A Look Back on 2014

IMG_0289web

The year is coming to a close. As usual, there were times I do not wish to relive and others that I did not wish to end. The year began with the most brutal winter ever since we moved to the U.S. 19 years ago. When spring finally arrived I spent as much time as possible outdoors and was able to add some awesome photos to my growing image collection. I also had a full calendar giving presentations in retirement communities and at garden clubs.

Unfortunately, spring was overshadowed by my dad’s fall, his declining health and his death in June. Instead of celebrating his birthday in July as I had planned, I attended his funeral instead. At a time when I could have used a stress-free journey, my flights to and from Germany were fraught with problems (see https://dorisdumrauf.wordpress.com/2014/09/10/my-trip-to-germany-part-1/… and https://dorisdumrauf.wordpress.com/2014/09/18/my-trip-to-germany-part-2/…). Despite the sad occasion there were days of joy when I met with my friends and I could experience the excitement of a World Cup win for Germany.

Back in the U.S., I enjoyed many hours photographing in our garden or rambling through Penn’s Woods with my husband. In September we celebrated our 25th anniversary with a day trip to Cuyahoga National Park in Ohio on a beautiful late summer day. In October we enjoyed the best fall foliage in years and took full advantage of it. Whenever I did not give a presentation and the weather was agreeable we headed to a local or state park. After all, nature’s beauty is fleeting. Every day is precious.

IMG_2273web

Leave a Reply

