Movies Don’t Tell The Whole Story

We were still living in Germany when we watched the movie “The Silence of the Lambs.” There was a particularly bleak winter scene in the movie, similar to this oneIMG_0699web

only more dismal. “How could anyone live there?” I wondered. “This is so depressing.”

We had lived in Pittsburgh for a while when I learned where the movie had been filmed: Pittsburgh! Since then I have realized that movie makers are bound and determined to feature Pennsylvania during winter.

I am the first to agree that winter days in Pennsylvania can be dreary, especially on cloudy days. And the trees seem to be bare of leaves longer than they are green. But I have come to appreciate the beauty of Pennsylvania’s outdoors all year round. Autumn is my favorite season, and I am still waiting for a movie that shows off our fireworks of colors.

Leave a Reply

